WP-1024x708 Extract from WINNING POST, Singapore, April 2014 Issue, of Page 4 and 5

Last year’s SIA Cup winner Military Attack leads a line-up that includes 169 horses from 16 countries.

A TOTAL OF 169 HORSES from 16 countries, including 42 local ones have emerged from the first and second rounds of nominations to Singapore’s two International Group 1 races on May 18.

The $3 million Singapore Airlines International Cup (SIA Cup) (2,000m) has attracted 93 entries for its 14th running, while its sister race, the $1 million KrisFlyer International Sprint (1,200m), in its ninth renewal, has garnered 76 entries.

Among the international stars lining up for the SIA Cup is last year’s winner. Hong Kong’s Military Attack, who shares the highest international rating of 124 with Ireland’s Magician.

Group 1 winners like Irish Champion Stakes winner The Fugue, Longines Hong Kong Cup victor Akeed Mofeed, and dual Canadian International Champion Joshua Tree are among the nominees.

Singapore has thrown into the mix 15 of its best middle-distance performers, headed by arch-rivals Stepitup and Super NinetySeven, Longines Singapore Gold Cup winner Tropaios, and young rising stars Johnny Guitar and Holy Warrior.

The Krisflyer International Sprint, run as the fourth leg of the Global Sprint Challenge has attracted two past winners in Hong Kong’s Lucky Nine, the 2013 winner, along with the Singapore- Trained hero of the 2011 edition, Rocket Man.

There is no shortage of depth among the visitors in the Sprint race, with some of the quality names including Australia’s triple Group 1 winner Moment of Change, outstanding Irish Sprinter, with some of the Quality names including Australia’s triple Group 1 winner Moment of Change, outstanding Irish sprinter Gordon Lord Byron, recent winner of the Group 1 George Ryder in Sydney, and Hong Kong’s sterling city, who made a successful raid to Dubai to annex the Group 1 Golden Shaheen.

Besides Rocket Man, the home team has 26 other top sprinters, including Mr Big, Zac Spirit, Emperor Max, El Padrino, and Johnny Guitar, who has been entered for both races.